My Everyday Eyeshadow Look (Tutorial)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I use the same formula for most of my eye looks – three eyeshadows and three brushes.

The Eyeshadow
I’m using Stila Eyeshadows from the In The Light palette.

The Brushes
A medium eyeshadow brush (like this one)
A soft blending brush (like this one)
A smudgy pencil brush or sponge brush (like this one)

You can adjust the sizes of these brushes according to the size of your eyes (I have fairly large ones).

My brush arsenal.

My brush arsenal.

I use two lid colours (a lighter shade and a darker shade) and one colour on the lower lash line (a coordinating shade).  You can cut this down to two colours using only the lighter and darker shade, but I find that introducing the third colour is a nice way to complete the look.  Here are the shadows I’ll be using for my demo look:

demolook

I’ll be using Bubbly as the lighter shade, Sandstone as the darker shade and Sunset along my lower lashline.

Step One
Start with a clean, primed eye.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Step Two
Use your eyeshadow brush to apply the lighter shade over most of your eyelid.

step2

Step Three
Use the same eyeshadow brush to pat the darker shade into the outer corner of your eyelid.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Step Four
Use your blending brush to pull the darker shade up into your crease, softening the edges as you go.  If you need more of the darker shade, use the blending brush to pick up a small amount.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Step Five
Use your pencil brush to apply the coordinating colour onto your lower lashline.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Step Six
Curl your lashes and add mascara.  I’m using Wet ‘n Wild Megalash Clinical.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Once you’re comfortable with the pattern, you can replicate it with any colours you’d like.  You can also mix in a contrasting colour to the lower lashline to switch it up.

look4

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

look5

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Juniper and Freesia are from the Stila In The Garden palette.

Yours in beauty,
McKenzie

2 comments on “My Everyday Eyeshadow Look (Tutorial)

  1. Amy says:

    Love love love this guide, SO helpful! Thank you 😀

Leave a Reply

